Names & Naming

Are we naming our daughters too fancifully? I am inclined to sympathise with the feeling that makes poor parents who have perforce to live in some soulless slum, seek for something sweet and wholesome, even if it be only a name, and I have given up moralising when I hear such a one called Doris or Ivy….. I like the flowers and the gems, but I do not care about the mythological names such as Diana, Psyche, and the like – they seem too heathenish.

(Anonymous, in Great Eastern Railway Magazine, November 1912)

Leave a Reply

